Almost 21

I am turning 21 next week. I have thought about this with a sober mind and feel that there are some things that are worth addressing at this age of my life.

I’m not surprised to find that I haven’t come very close to living the life that I had imagined for myself five years ago, when I had dreamed about being at the golden age of 21. I thought that life would have fallen into place by now. But that isn’t the case.

I am, however, pleasantly surprised to find that I don’t hold these failures against myself. I am not angry at myself or sad that my life is in shambles, even at twenty one. Learning that this future me that the past me had dreamt up turned out to be a kinder me than I could have imagined is something to be grateful for all on its own.

This, of course, doesn’t mean that there isn’t something left to be desired.

I have tried this many times before and, although the endeavour is something to be admired, the results have always fallen short. I want to just live better and be better to others, I already learnt how to be kind to myself  but I still need to learn how to be good for myself.

 

Leave a Reply

